The Genesis project

I have decided to start a new project, it’s purpose is two-fold:

  1. do something I am really interested in (random world generation)
  2. be an excuse to use some tech that I want to use and to learn some new ones I am interested in learning

For this project I will specifically make it a point to use :

  • F#
  • Bootstrap
  • Angular2
  • VS Code
  • .Net Core and ASP.Net Core
  • ASP.Net Web API
  • TypeScript

I will also try to do as much of the development as possible on Linux (Mint 17.3 XFCE edition with zsh and oh-my-zsh). Switching to Windows 10 and Visual Studio Community Edition when I need to.

If I see something that doesn’t work or that I don’t like along the way (say I want to replace VS Code with Atom or Angular with React), I won’t bat an eyelid and just make the switch.

The project itself will be a website that allows visitors to create and display a procedurally generated world. I am naming it after the Genesis device from Star Trek III.

I have already created the GitHub repo. My time is severely limited so I don’t know how much time I will be able to invest in this but I don’t mind going with a slow and sporadic approach since this is a personal interest project.

Leave a Reply

